CHRISTEN JANINE OTTER

Design Persona

Who am I?

To me help me get a jump start on designing a persona for the web, I’ve used the template that Professor Bill Wolff suggested on Aarron Walter’s website. 

Overview: I’d like my site to reflect a level of sophistication, but through its simplicity. I love good design and so I’d like my readers to get a sense that I am ‘about’ design as well as writing and composition. I love traditional ‘media,’ (such as old letters, hand-crafted books, old-world calligraphy)  yet at the same time I love the emergent, and the hybrid–which has to do with technology and the internet. I also love to experiment with words, structure, and language. So, the design of my site will be a nuanced blend to reflect a kind of convergence of these elements. Additionally, as far as aesthetics, I’d like my online space to be simple, yet have slight poetic flourish, are open and ‘light’ and have soft, ambient colors.

Brand Traits: Ambient, open, sophisticated, engaging, navigable, convergence/partnership of old and new media.

Traits to avoid: Overly visually visually complicated, dark, out-dated.

Voice: I have been know to be somewhat of an extraterrestrial in terms of my abstract-type of thinking. I am not exactly a ‘down to earth’ sort of person, although I would certainly say that I am friendly, and I do love humor–therefore, I think the Voice in my site should reflect my personality. (I would also say another goal here my be to further investigate what ‘type’ of abstract thinker I might be, as to get a sense of embodiment for that.)

Engagement Methods: I’ll be using some of more mainstream types of new media for people to connect with me, such as the ability to comment on my blog, find me on social media such as, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube, etc. I see this capability to connect as being as social media buttons that will be installed directly onto my page, so users can visit these spaces if they so desire.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
Raiders of the Lost Architecture!

FUTHARK • Aleph Beta Gimmel Daleth He • ABCDEFG

waynestainrook

The official blog of the grad student, gamer, mascot and wino

tomwink

Currently blogging about web design and a feminist reading of comics

Michael Youngkin's Blog

Musical bricoleur

Kimberly Erskine

Writer, Christian, SEO/Social Media Marketer, Book Reviewer, Deaf and Loud.

Christina Maxwell

Everybody wants to rule the world

Megg's Internet Writing Blog

experimenting with HTML and CSS coding

jaminmc

Just another WordPress.com site

RU Art

Inside Rowan University's Art Department

